Some people think about the best way to improve road safety is to make vehicles driver take a test every year.To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, there has been a significant increase in the number of road accidents in cities. It is often argued whether the best solution to this problem is to make drivers take a test each year. I completely disagree with this opinion and believe that there are better ways to improve road safety. This essay will elucidate my assertion in the forthcoming paragraphs. Firstly, taking each driver’s examination frequently is next to impossible if the population is very high. So, in order to deal with such a situation, I believe that the government must increase awareness among the people. For instance, the authorities can organise campaigns for the public to spread knowledge about safety measures like the importance of traffic lights, traffic rules and regulations, etc. This will help individuals to be cautious on roads while driving as well as crossing. Moreover, it has been observed that an increasing number of road accident cases are registered on festival days. This is because people drink and drive on such occasions. Hence, regular checks must be conducted for such scenarios to avoid mishaps. Also, the laws should be strict enough so that people adhere to them. For example, if rules and regulations are in place and severe punishments are announced for drunk drivers, personnel will not dare to do it. This will ensure that unfortunate incidents are tackled. Certainly, it is the need of the hour to take action to curb the issue of road mishaps. As suggested in the aforementioned paragraphs, taking a driving test each year is not feasible, and there are better ways in which we can deal with this issue. I hope that the government makes conscious efforts toward improving road safety so that pedestrians can wander stress-free.