Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future. Others, by contrast, are worried that we are not prepared for a world in which computers are more intelligent than humans. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People seem to be either excited or concerned about the future impact of artificial intelligence on their daily life. Personally, I understand both opposing feelings. I am fascinated by the developments of artificial intelligence and apprehensive about its possible negative effects. On the one hand, advances in artificial intelligence have some obvious benefits. Firstly, this technology does better than humans in these jobs that need a precious and big amount of calculation. For example, robots can operate surgical procedures better than human doctors and we already have cars that use sensors and cameras to drive themselves. Such technologies help to reduce the likelihood of human errors. It is easy to imagine how these technologies will steadily improve human well-being. On the other hand, I share the concern of people who believe that artificial intelligence may harm us if we are not careful. In the short term, we will see a rise in unemployment as machines or software programs can replace humans in several jobs. For example, self-drive car technology can cause redundancies in driving jobs such as taxi drivers, bus drivers, or lorry drivers. In the medium term, being replaced by robots may cause humans deskilled and lose the sense of purpose in life. In the long term, there is a fear that robots can make decisions without human supervision and without regard for the well-being of humans. In conclusion, artificial intelligence may bring undoubted benefits to our life but it may cause the potential risks that we have to predict.