Every year several languages die out. Some people think that is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this notion?

The problem of language loss is more apparent than ever with more languages becoming extinct annually. While some argue that this phenomenon can simplify people’s lives, I believe that this is a critical issue that deserves significant attention. Admittedly, humans can enjoy a simpler way of communicating with the world due to language disappearance. When some minority languages are lost, some more dominant languages tend to be more popular, removing language barriers. For example, the rise of English as a lingua franca makes it more convenient to have business exchanges among worldwide companies. This example suggests that the presence of fewer languages can facilitate business activities by enhancing international cooperation and partnerships. However, language endangerment is a more pressing issue than it seems. The loss of many languages is important because when languages become extinct, the cultures associated with the language are likely to vanish. This is because language describes people’s way of life and upholds local values and beliefs. Sometimes, those values are untranslated into other languages. A typical instance is the word “thương” in Vietnamese which shows Vietnamese feelings when they care for others. Although on a superficial level, the word can mean “like” or “love”, these meanings fail to capture the fact that this not does not necessarily reflect intimate relationships but a long-held tradition showcasing Vietnamese’s way to treat others with love and care. Therefore, if languages, the methods to record local cultures, are gone, many cherished values and traditions will also fade away. In conclusion, language loss might result in simplified means of communication, which leads to extensive collaboration in businesses. I believe that this problem poses existential risks to the regional culture of minority communities, which should be made more recognized by the public.