Some people believe that it is a good idea to continue to work at their old age? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people reckon that it is advantageous for individuals and the government for the elder population to remain employed in the aspect of maintaining physical health and easing off the burden of society. Therefore, I agree with the notion that senior citizens should stay in their careers wherever possible. Firstly, being employed in old age allows workers to be mentally and physically active by interacting with people from different backgrounds and addressing unexpected situations. Working makes it possible for individuals to exercise interpersonal skills and expand their social networks. For example, the elderly are provided with the opportunity to interact with clients and customers in their work setting and gain rewarding and pleasant experiences in their professional lives. This is especially beneficial for older people who may not be able to attain companionship from their children. Moreover, being involved in a profession offers the older population a chance to be physically active and maintain good well-being for which certain job prospects may require employees to travel locally or internationally. Thus, this kind of achievement may not be attained when resting at home. Secondly, keeping the elderly crowd in the employment scheme may have positive effects in diminishing pressure on the authority in the field of medical services. This may pose a strain on a nation's economy as the state may have to invest more money in providing advanced healthcare to the senior population. However, this circumstance may be improved if senior residents remain employed and earn a living to support themselves. For instance, earning a salary instead of relying on welfare that is aimed at the elderly could make a significant effort to reduce the burden on the community and the government. By investing in this strategy, more funding can be allocated to advancing educational institutions, basic infrastructures and public transportation. On the other hand, senior residents may suffer from various health problems, such as heart disease, and declined cognitive function that may have an adverse impact on companies' productivity and profitability. The productivity of the whole community may drop as the number of workers aged 65 and above increases. For example, senior citizens who stay in the workforce even in their 60s may struggle with cognitive decline and other conditions which may limit their general performance to process information and handle work. They may not be able to deal with excessive work-related pressure as effectively as their younger counterparts. Consequently, the continuation of employment for the elder nation may be counterproductive for the development of the community. In a nutshell, I agree to a large extent that older folk should continue to pursue a position in a certain career market as it is not only beneficial for their mental and physical health but it also an approach to ease off some pressure of the government in the aspect of keeping the pension scheme running. In contrast, working in an individual's later life may not yield significant benefits for society.