More and more countries are making university education completely free for their citizens. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that several countries around the world are providing free access to Universities for their citizens. Even though there are significant benefits regarding people's access to university education, there are also some drawbacks to consider. On the one hand, one benefit regarding this initiative is a more effective way to give people a chance to learn and improve their educational background, because citizens will have the opportunity to learn new subjects or skills that are offered in Universities. As a consequence, local people will be more prepared to deal with different challenges present in the job environment. For instance, it is estimated that 6 out of 10 cities in Brazil which provide free enrollment in universities for its citizens relates to a significant improvement in skilled labour hired by local businesses, which results in more efficient products and services offered by these companies. On the other hand, one drawback related to this type of costless education may be the lack of enough financial resources, as many places around the world suffer from different economic issues. Consequently, this type of problem can harm such initiatives. For example, in South Africa and India citizens may not have access to educational programs since the government relates insufficient financials provided by local businesses to enable such benefits, It is known that for these citizens the lack of enough money will certainly affect their access to universities. To conclude, even though a costless educational program may be an effective way to enable people's knowledge improvement the lack of financial resources can be a significant issue to consider. Ideally, this choice needs to be made by each country, since they know properly about their own economic resources to provide for local citizens.