Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to advanced technology, more and more population consider social media as a part of life. Indeed, it brings us enormous benefits, such as convenient communication, various entertainment, and unlimited business opportunities. However, I agree that such different kinds of online platforms seriously affect both individuals and society. Nowadays, public prefer to spend a lot of time scrolling up and down online communities at the expense of other leisure activities, including outdoor sports, family trips, or reading, which benefit our physical and mental health. Even if browsing these applications on a phone can help those addicted to it unwind, excessive use may cause a range of diseases, especially when replacing exercise with smart devices. After reducing active duration, various diseases, like obesity, heart attack, and metabolic syndrome, will be found in our bodies, due to the decline in energy expenditure, thereby triggering these potential illnesses. As a result, the individual's health state will become worse and worse. Similarly, on a mental level, those will also suffer from nomophobia, which means people don't use these devices, being anxious. In addition, abusing abbreviations or emotions on the platform leads to impairment in linguistic skills, particularly in the young generation, thereby inducing detrimental language implementation, communication barriers and misunderstanding in formal contexts. The more impairment on an individual level, the more destruction on a societal level. Although a lot of people manage a terrific online channel to earn a higher income, this trend may face sorts of challenges. For example, those relying on social media to run business have less chance to get into face-to-face connections. Such situations let them exchange information, get instant support or build a rapport with others more difficult. Furthermore, by utilizing social media, people can maintain connections regardless of geographical distances, which are attributed to career obligations, academic pursuits, or time constraints. Even so, owing to such excessive utilization, they usually neglect the individuals present in their immediate surroundings, leading to hampering authentic relationships, fostering a culture of isolation, and even causing social polarization. In conclusion, because of the introduction of kinds of state-of-the-art social networking sites, people do what they want to do more effectively. Nevertheless, not only personal concerns but global issues as well have arisen, which warrant reflection and action.