In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing?

Air travel has become an indispensable part of individuals, over the last few years. I believe, an increase in the number of flights has occurred because of several reasons and has more benefits than its disadvantages. One of the paramount reasons for travelling by air is reduced travel costs. Travelling in planes was expensive in the past days and only the rich could afford it. But now, the number of airlines has increased and to compete with others, each airline is offering huge discounts on tickets. So, people are now able to sightseeing far distances at the lowest prices and without putting pressure on their pockets. Another reason is that booking a ticket is very straightforward comparatively. In past, for instance, only travel agents could help people with booking flights but now online booking has made it effortless and it could be done in a few minutes. The increase in air travel is because it comes with multiple benefits and time efficiency is one of them. A person can travel to places in a few hours by means of air transportation. For example, to travel from Punjab to Maharashtra it takes only 3 hours to reach by plane, however, if a train is taken instead travel time extends to 20 hours approximately which is exhausting. Moreover, immigrants living abroad can visit their families whenever they want and families could go on vacation to different countries. The only drawback of travelling by air is the bad impact on the environment. Aviation fuel is wasted on planes, in research, it is proven to be most dangerous to the environment. Noise pollution is also a concern, which is quite disturbing for the people living nearby airports. In conclusion, the advantages of travelling by air made it prominent among the masses on a world level. But the government should find more ways to eradicate its bad effects on the environment.