Millions of dollars are spent on space research every year. Some people argue that the money should be spent on improving living standards on Earth. Do you agree or disagree?

Each year, the amount of money that is spent on the space program is counted in millions. However, it is said spending that money on enhancing life qualities on Earth is more needed. I completely agree with this view. First, our funding for space research is rising higher and higher which causes fewer opportunities for those in the world to get educational or food assistance. The casual space study often costs over 10 million for the researchers, technicians, and infrastructure, with no guarantee of success therefore this money is wasted. While; some problems such as the lack of education in developing countries and the wide range of people who live in poverty, are urgent to solve, space money enables the government to pay less on another issue. Take North Korea as a typical example, this country has spent millions of dollars investigating life on Mars, on the opposite side, where thousands of its citizens are alarmingly forced to live in bad conditions. Secondly, another reason is that I consider that the impact of space studies is likely to damage our environment. Materials for research such as coal, gas, and other fossil fuels are eliminated every year in millions of tons, and these resources will eventually cause emissions and contaminated water. The level of pollution worldwide, of the land, the air, the ocean, and the air that we breathe is worse. In Japan, for example, an enormous amount of radioactive rays has been released illegally into the ocean, killing aquatic life. In conclusion, I believe that the search for new planets on which to settle should be paid less concern, and efforts should be made to improve life on Earth.