Many historic buildings are being distroyed or damaged. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to preserve the buildings?

History is an integral part of human evolution, and we the new generation learn about history through historic buildings, folk songs, written documents and so on. Folk songs and written documents are easier to store and inherit to the next generation than historic buildings which are being distroyed either by nature or humans. In this essay, I will discuss some reasons for this and give some ideas about what should be done to preserve the building. There are two main factors contributing to the degradation of these building. The first one is no preservation done by the owners. There is no doubt that historic buildings are usually located in the very center of big cities which are the most crowded and most expensive area. One historic building, for instance, may be shared several households during the 1970s in Hanoi. Over time, the number of popullation households grows is getting larger, and the building is divided into smaller units to accommodate their personal lives. Thus, it is hard to refurbish them if an agreement is not achievable among the residents. In addition to this, due to its good location, state-owned historic buildings are destroyed for modern building construction in order to make a good looking city infrastructure. For example, in Hanoi, the Hoalo prison was destroyed partly to convert it into a five-star hotel. So what should be done to preserve these buildings? In my opinion, it is better to get support from the government to move crowded residents to the outskirts of the city with some fundamental financial support firstly and then to utilize some public funds to refurbish the historical buildings for tourism purposes. Once it is done, the government can earn money from tourists and reinvest in building maintanence. In conclusion, the historic buildings are very important to the culture of a country. Thus the need for goverment support is a critical part to keep those lasting longer, and our next generation will understand our glorious history.