Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly argued that international tourists should pay a higher price for traditional and historic sites. Personally, I completely disagree with this view for a variety of reasons. First of all, it can be seen as discriminatory and unfair to charge people more based on their nationality. This means that foreign visitors may feel uncomfortable paying a higher price for the same goods for services compared to local people and it can create a negative image of our country in their eyes. For example, as reported by Vietnam Express, since the entrance fare was made higher for foreigners as a policy of the managers, the revenue of the City Cultural Museum in Ho Chi Minh City dropped 40% compared to that of the previous year. The survey showed that most of the expat visitors felt it was unfair and unreasonable. Furthermore, it can be difficult to determine who is a foreign traveler, and who is a native citizen which can lead to confusion and disputes. This is because many Asians have similar looks; therefore, it is challenging to recognize if they are foreigners just by appearance. For example, I have a friend who looks like a Middle East woman. Whenever she goes downtown for a drink or goes to Ben Thanh market, merchants or sellers always start a conversation with her in English. In conclusion, some people think that overseas travellers should be charged an additional fee for cultural heritage or historic monuments. In my opinion, we should maintain a fair price for all tourists to promote Vietnam’s culture and develop the tourism industry.