Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some professionals argue that the primary level is the right time for children to study a second language. Although it is beneficial to know a foreign language at a young age, I personally believe there are more drawbacks than benefits. The main reason why imposing a new dialect on kids is not a good idea is that it can be too overwhelming for primary-level children. Primary school is the first external environment where children mingle with people who are not their family members. Instead of learning a new language, schools should make sure there is no problem arising in adapting to the new environment and interactions with their peers and teachers. In addition, there can still be a significant number of young children who are still catching up with their own mother tongue at a primary age, therefore, it is no point to embrace a new language when they are still struggling with their own language. People say that the brain can absorb and acquire new skills set at a young age. There are more important things to learn apart from a second language. First, it would be more beneficial to lay a good foundation for Maths and Science subjects which are useful and relevant for higher education. Second, children should have more fun time in primary class rather than studying hard. Various research proves that children who are happy in their primary school are likely to excel in their higher education. To conclude, it can be too overwhelming for kids to acquire a new language skill when they are supposed to enjoy their time and learn more important subjects.