As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Newspapers have always been the main source of knowledge for many until the internet became more accessible and rendered news reports obsolete. This is probably due to the fast-growing potential of this technology, which allows users to access news content fast, from their own comfort space and free of charge. I believe that the internet has enabled more people to stay up-to-date than the press ever did before. To begin with, newspapers served a very important purpose for the generations before us. For those who lived during times of war, financial crisis and when technology was not people’s priority. While such living difficulties were a burden for many, people were very keen to read and discover what was going on around them, not just domestically but internationally too. For example, during WWII Europe suffered a great deal of destruction and civilians only had their local journals to receive information about their neighbouring countries. However, the recent advancements in internet technology have forced many of us to seek information from our mobile phones, tablets or stationary computers at home. The flow of information online is by far the fastest. One may even set notifications on their smartphone and stay informed instantly. For instance, a very recent earthquake caused massive damage and claimed the lives of many in Turkey requiring international support. Many of my friends managed to gather humanitarian aid for Turkey within a day of the incident elapsed, this highlights how fast and far the information can spread via the internet. To recapitulate, indeed the press used to be a very effective means of propagating info from person to person. However, technology has undoubtedly opened up a new horizon in the way we receive knowledge. I completely agree that the world has moved forward and that paper no longer serves its purpose in society.