The world's resources are being consumed at an ever-increased rate. What are the dangers of this situation? What should we do?

It is widely argued that the level of natural resource consumption is increasing more and more around the world. This essay attempts to shed light on the detrimental impacts of this negative tendency before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle it. There are two major problems stemming from the overexploitation of natural resources in this day and age. First and foremost, this negative trend could negatively affect people's health. To simplify, transportation on the roads releases enormous amounts of greenhouse gases into our daily lives, which contributes to air pollution in the surrounding areas. Consequently, people are more likely to suffer from common ailments, namely respiratory infections or illnesses. Secondly, the massive waste from human activities could bring about serious problems for water sources throughout the globe. Taking a prime example, the disposal of waste in Japanese industries results in the blanket of dead fish on the riverbank for over 2 months. This is to say, the contamination of the water acts as a precursor to a decline in marine diversity as well as the residents nearby. To combat this worrying issue, it is crucial to take the following feasible steps: The first measure is that the official state should impose some strict laws to encourage citizens to use public transport on the roads. This trend could mitigate the number of cars driving as well as improve the air quality in some cities. Another remedy is that the official state should research and introduce carbon-free energy sources, namely wind and solar energy. In other words, eco-friendly power sources have an extremely low carbon footprint released into the atmosphere, thereby having a minimal impact on the environment. As a result, this positive trend could ensure sustainable development of the Earth’s resources in the years to come. In conclusion, there are a host of serious repercussions attributable to the overuse of global resources, and it is of paramount importance that several solutions be universally implemented to help mitigate these issues.