Many today feel that attention spans are becoming shorter due to the prevalence of social media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that concentration has been diminished by the commonness of social networks. To some extent, I think that the instant gratification of human beings is one of the major reasons for that, however,external factors such as stress are stimulating to the shortening of sustained attention as well. One reason, I agree with the notion is that modern technology users have a divided focus which is coming from the penetration of social media platforms into our daily lives. The reason is the nature of people who tend to prefer immediate satisfaction rather than mindful technology use. As a result, users are becoming more dependent on appealing and entertaining content from various internet sources. Hence, the more a person interacts with digital networks, the less attention span will be. Others argue that social platforms are the major reason for distractibility. In my point of view, apart from that, exogenous elements, which are an integral part of our regular life, have affected the aforementioned negative points. Especially, stress causes destructive consequences to concentrated thinking, and plays the role of detrimental stimulus when the person is deeply engrossed with the particular assignment. For instance, there are a lot of young adults who have been disturbed by unconscious thoughts of financial concerns and unrealized expectations. In conclusion, while networking applications harmfully decrease focus time, I would argue that not only that factor, but external elements are one of the main notions to fluctuate our attention.