Nowadays shops have extended opening hours almost everyday of the week in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development of shoppers and local communities?

When compared to how many hours shops stayed open in the past, it is obvious that shops end business very late every night in the week recently. While in some ways this development may seem reasonable to the community and people, I personally believe that it ultimately has negative consequences. The main reason why it is not good to open the stores late at night is the increase in fuel use. A huge number of shops opening in the mega malls simultaneously require higher power supply, whereas many countries are facing shortage of it and priority of its usage is always given to business purpose. In China, for example, people were very angry and annoyed because the frequent blackout in residential areas happened during summertime, causing their kids to fail the exam or their own comfort to be disrupted. If the shops close earlier, then electricity power can be allocated well to resident households. Longer shopping hours also exacerbate family harmony. Buyers, particularly married women, often spend further time after work to go shopping and may end the day with plenty of goods. I witnessed my friend was criticized by her husband for overspending on products such as clothes and cosmetics, and limited time to take care of their children. As a result, this is not only harmful to their pocket but their time with family too. In conclusion, there is no doubt that extending hours in malls does carry harmful factors to local communities and shopper. In other words, if the opening time is not shortened, it will continue impacting negatively on daily life.