In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The issue of people, participating in vocational training, are rising has raised public concern. From my perspective, the drawbacks outweigh the benefit. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation. Admittedly, vocational training plays a vital role in improving people ’s practical skills. This is because work-based training can offer opportunities to accomplish a task in the real work environment, which can cultivate individual capacity on problem-solving. An clear example is that numerous companies need the internship experience. If someone has been trained in a corporate, the interview may think the people are able to work immediately and they have not to train their staffs for a long time. Therefore, experiencing vocational training may help people hunt a job and gain a better career. However, education in universities is essential to search for a better career. One major reason is that education can cultivate people ’s academic and logical thinking abilities, thereby improving people’s employment. For instance, traditional curricula such as science, maths and physics are required in numerous majors. So students need learn these courses in universities professionally. What’s more, such specific knowledge may not be available in vocational training. Thus, learning in university is necessary so that individuals can seek a satisfying vocation through professional education. Compared with attending work-based training first, education in university offers more opportunities for people to choose their jobs better. In conclusion, although vocational training is indispensable before people enter the workplace, education professionally plays a more fundamental role in cultivating all-round development of the individuals.