Some people think all university student should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The field of study is one of the most important choices that institute students have to make in terms of progressing in their lives and future careers. Some argue that a field of study takes priority over students’ preferences, so obliging students to study such subject area brings prosperity for individuals and nations in the future. The importance of both will be discussed and I will mention my personal viewpoint at the end. On the one hand, those learners who have the free will to participate in their interests are more passionate about learning things. In other words, they dedicate their time and energy to exploring their favorite related subjects, which leads to fostering knowledge and skill in these groups is more likely to be greater than compulsory methods. For instance, according to a survey, those who chase their dreams willingly not only become more intelligent, and skillful in societal progress but also gain high levels of prosperity in their fields. By contrast, opponents of free choices in education programs mention the significant role of modern technology and scientific areas in the development of society. For instance, mathematics, physics, and chemistry are the basis of science, thus, administrators are responsible for making sure the number of candidates and experts in these fields is enough. Furthermore, due to the advancement of technology, the requirement for skilled workers is increasing daily. This results in more job opportunities for those who will graduate in these majors of study. In addition, the progress of nations is highly related to scientific and technical information since various parts of a community like healthcare, industry, transportation, and defense capabilities are necessary for global competition. therefore, the government must make sure the employees in this field have a noticeable amount of effort. In conclusion, in my point of view, it would appear that the fields of society and technology are vitally regarded for progress. However, this neglects individual preferences which may include forgetting the identity of society in art and history and eradicating the chances to find geniuses in these areas.