Government involvement in the arts, such as music and theatre is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

There are diverse opinions about government expenditure on creative arts including music and theatre as a misplaced priority that such funds should be channelled into the public sector. I agree with this because more significant public services like health, security and education are calling for urgent attention. This essay shall be expatiated further and be supported with relevant examples in the subsequent paragraphs. On one hand, when the hospital is not well staffed and equipped due to lack of funding since the money that is supposed to be spent on this has been sacrificed for entertainment is a misplaced priority. For instance, it is when an individual is healthy and in the right frame of mind that he or she can think of listening to music, watching movies or going to the theatre. In addition, education is the bedrock of any society that needs appropriation of resources because there will be many setbacks for this sector when it is denied the required funding. Furthermore, the security of lives and property is a major issue that needs adequate attention from the state Moreover, other social amenities like potable water, electricity, adequate housing, a good road network, affordable schools and many others are essential for the survival of the people in the country. On the other hand, music and entertainment can be beneficial to some people. For example, it is a source of livelihood for some individuals. Also, senior citizens and people recuperating from illnesses can enjoy listening to music or watching movies but the government should not neglect other sectors because of this. In conclusion, a healthy person is a healthy nation and it is when an individual is having good health that he / she can think of creative arts or music. Also, without,security no one can go to the cinema to watch movies. So I strongly agree that government should channel its resources into public services other than the arts.