Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to only be meant for adults. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes, and what solutions can be offered?

Recently, diseases that were specific to older individuals have been seen in youngsters. Obesity is the most popular one. This essay will explain its main reasons and provide some acceptable resolutions for obesity. Considerable research has shown that the aetiology of obesity is multifactorial. One of the main reasons for it is lack of diet. Consuming foods that contain high fats is quite popular among young people which might have a huge impact on the liver as well as the metabolism of the body. Moreover, the second reason is a sedentary lifestyle. Since video games and social media became popular, the vast majority of adolescents are not physically active. As a result, it leads them to put on more weight every day. A recent study in 2022 showed that American children have the highest obesity figures all around the world. The role of creating solutions should be made by the government. First and foremost, they need to encourage teenagers to consume more healthy foods through pop-up ads on the internet. As it is mentioned above, young people spend most of their time surfing, thus, online ads for the disease can be beneficial. Secondly, local communities have to provide attractive and free sports facilities which can support the children to enrol easily. For instance, İzmir has the lowest proportion of obese people in Turkey which is related to the number of available free public sports centres. In conclusion, obese children’s numbers are increasing day to day. To tackle that problem, parents need to prevent their children to eat junk food and motivate them to be more active with the government’s support.