Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does the situation have more advantages or more disadvantages.

A lot of individuals tend to spend more hours at work as it becomes more competitive these days. Although we have some benefits to this which cannot be ignored, in this essay I will explain why the problems are more. Admittedly there are basic benefits to working overtime. Firstly, individuals who spend extra hours working tend to be more productive on the job. In this,case the employee puts in more time to work with additional efforts, which in turn will prove to their managers that they are dedicated to the job. As a result, they stand a chance to get a promotion and increase in pay. Secondly, they are able to get more money by working extra. The extra hour is rewarded by overtime payment, bonuses or an increase in salary. The extra payment will be helpful for individuals to assist in paying bills. On the other hand, despite the advantages we have a lot of drawbacks to the situation. In so many cases people end up not having a good work-life balance. They spend most of their time working and are unable to create time to relax, socialize and spend time with family. This will have an adverse effect on their bond with their family. We have so many cases of divorce which are as a result of couples spending less time together. Another issue is the effect it has on the employees' health. So many individuals pay less attention to their health as they do not create time to engage in any sports activity or to exercise. This in turn exposes them to the risk of obesity, poor sight and mental stress. In conclusion, though working overtime has some positive sides to it, the consequences which are detrimental are more as it affects individuals health, family and physical well-being.