Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinions diverge on the right to make decisions for children. While it is believed that allowing juveniles to decide on their own will lead to a society of selfish individuals who prioritize their desires, others argue that it is crucial to enable kids to make their own choices on problems relevant to them. This essay will discuss both views and show my advocacy for the second statement. On the one hand, it is a common belief that complying with all children’s everyday wishes may result in them forming the habit of selfishness. This is because when allowed to choose whatever they want to eat or wear on a daily basis, they may become accustomed to not caring about other people’s preferences when making a decision. This habit will stay with them as they grow up, creating a selfish society. For example, a child who is allowed to decide on his own at a young age might grow up prioritizing his favourite choice of food over other family members' opinions during a picnic, meal, or family gathering. On the other hand, I am more convinced that it is essential for children to decide about matters that exert an influence on them, as this plays an integral part in their comprehensive development. To be specific, permitted to make a decision on their own, children are likely to be independent of their parents. Subsequently, the capacity for self-reliance that is essential for their personal and career success will be enhanced. As a result, it will be easier for them to make their own well-informed, responsible choices. In particular, many helicopter parents, such as those in Vietnam might fail to guide them properly in how to gather relevant information and evaluate possible options for a final sound decision, which is likely to have detrimental effects, preventing many from leading a self-sufficient life. To conclude, I would like to say that being allowed to decide on their own is extremely crucial in the development of the amiable personality of an individual. If they are properly guided at home, he/she might not end up becoming selfish citizens in society.