Some people believe that it is a good idea to continue to work at their old age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the discourse of ageing and retirement, the question of whether or not people should retire and not dedicate themselves to work anymore when in old age has garnered widespread interest. One common perspective that many people, myself included, approve that working in old age is an ideal idea, which is beneficial for both themselves and society. Opponents of the elderly remaining in the labour force usually exacerbate their health issues and cite the fact that keeping working can affect negatively on their health and it is time for them to slow down and take necessary steps to maintain their health after many years of working. Moreover, the old can complete tasks less effectively and productively compared to the young due to issues relating to age, which can cause undesirable impacts on businesses. However, this thinking fails to factor in the fact that old people obviously have acquired many experience years and senior skills, as a result, they even may complete tasks according to the rules more quickly and precisely than the young do. What is more, replacing the old by recruiting new young employees requires a training program for beginners. That being the case, these programs can cost a fortune and consume a lot of time in order for new employees can meet businesses' needs. Meanwhile, it can be seen in many large corporations, almost experts and leaders who are senior and have many years of dedication to work have still persisted in working. The key rationale for this is that in the absence of their contribution, valuable knowledge sources can be lost and unrecoverable. Considering these factors, the advocacy of old people remaining in the labour force holds significant merit. In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, the old persisting in working can come with several shortcomings, but the advantages they bring are far outweighed when considering the positive development for society overall.