Some people say that governments should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems to help people prevent illness and disease. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There have been growing efforts by the governments to improve people ’s health. Some people may have claimed that reducing environmental pollution and solving ever-increasing housing problems will prevent illness and disease in society. However, personally, I disagree with this suggestion because there are other factors that can cause illness and disease. Firstly, illness and disease are not affected by pollution and housing problems. In the past, not only air pollution and dirty water problems but also lack of residences were worldwide prevalent problems. However, now things have changed, allowing people to have fresh water with filtration and providing many high-stories flats that can be easily accessible, because of the development of scientific and construction technology. Nevertheless, modern society has gone through harsh diseases, I think this is because there are unexpected disasters which have become burdens to the government. When COVID-19 swept the world world, for instance, the government could not stop the spread of viruses. Consequently, even though the governments tried hard to reduce environmental problems, they couldn't help people from preventing unexpected virus diseases. Moreover, there are other reasons that cause illness rather than environmental and housing problems. First, people nowadays prefer to eat junk food which is awash with fat, instead of having healthy nutritious ingredients. Just imagine that hamburger, for instance, its flavour is stimulated, feeling tastier than healthy food, resulting in influencing people ’s dietary habits negatively. What I am concerned about is that having unhealthy food makes people struggle with illness. Additionally, people are stressed a lot these days, due largely to heavy workloads, thereby having mental diseases like demotivation and depression. Most workers in Korea, for example, have complained about being required to do extra work in their workplace. I also feel worried about it because this can cause a dark atmosphere in society in the future. For these reasons, illness and disease are derived from other factors in our society. In conclusion, although the governments have tried to solve environmental and housing problems to prevent people from illness, they are wrestling with ongoing problems that cannot be solved. I firmly believe that they should focus on finding out other methods to prevent and improve people ’s health.