Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language/ homogeneous language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

Researchers claim that in the forthcoming future, mankind will use homogeneous language. From my point of view, this phenomenon has both merits and demerits; however, its drawbacks outnumber its benefits, which can be illustrated as follows. On the one hand, using only one language bears some benefits. To begin with, the fact that it bridges the gap between different cultures, communities and countries is a noteworthy advantage. Indeed, by sharing the same language can global citizens not only overcome the language barriers but also be able to promote technology exchanges as well as fostering diplomatic relationships. For example, if my brother had not known English, he would not have become such a brilliant diplomat as he was able to make most of his knowledge to reach compromises with his opponents, giving him victories on diplomatic battlefields. On the other hand, I reckon that there are more minuses than pluses of speaking the same language. First and foremost, the easement of a community’s quintessences is a concerning issue. Apparently, a mother tongue embodies a country’s tangible and intangible values such as poems and traditional folk music, which will be on the brink of extinction due to the assimilation into the so-called “higher society”. Moreover, there will be heated controversies or even wars, which revolve around the topic of which dialect will be the homogeneous one. For instance, my acquaintance and his foreign friend had a dispute about which language would be used most. Furthermore, due to not being able to reach a consensus, they started fighting and ended up in a hospital. In a nutshell, as aforementioned, I reconfirm that there is a merit and two demerits to using a single language. Hence, the question posed here is about how to harness its strengths and mitigate its weaknesses for a better future.