Many doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, but most patients do not follow an exercise routine. Why do you think this happens? How can people be encouraged to exercise regularly?

Doctors endlessly struggle with the older patient population and their reluctance to comply with the recommendations to exercise consistently. In my opinion, this subset of patients is not convinced that daily workouts can indeed reduce the occurrence of negative health outcomes. Through proper motivation, I believe that people will embark on the journey to a more active lifestyle. The main obstacle that individuals run into regarding scheduled training is lack of time in the day. There always seems to be another event or activity that is more important in the lives of older people than doing aerobics three times a week. For instance, one's occupation, studies, or children dominate their arrangements, which leaves little wiggle room for exercising. Not only will these responsibilities be the excuse for the depleted hours in someone's day, but patients mention how exhausted they feel following these busy schedules. Jam-packed agendas like these will only lead to a diminished drive to even consider a yoga class before supper. Incentivization is the best way to encourage patients to live a non-sedentary lifestyle, even if that means taking a twenty-minute stroll in the park a few times a week. Some examples of this comprise having a companion to walk with so one does not feel lonely, or having a cheat day on Sunday where one can eat what one would like and not have to sweat it out later in the evening. I think a prime issue is initiating a routine; however, studies have depicted that once progress is reflected physically and mentally, there was a heightened increase in steady exercise habits. Additionally, education is key for individuals to understand the benefits of exercise. To conclude, patient instruction and intellectualization are crucial in inspiring them to implement such goals routinely. Once this can be achieved, the possibility of obtaining poor health will soon become a worry of the past.