in many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the population of elderly people has increased in many countries because individuals are living more than before. Although this trend undoubtedly has both positive and negative sides, in my opinion, the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages. There are several reasons why some people believe that living longer than before may create some problems for the government. Firstly, elderly person need more take care of their health, so the number of hospitals or houses for keeping them should be increased in countries. It means that the governments should invest in constructing the facilities to supply them with health requirements. In addition, they need special supplements and treatments because of their age and weakness in both mental and physical ability. So, supplying drugs for them to keep and maintain their mental and physical health is another aspect of the overpopulation of old people. Hence, a part of the public budget should be allocated for elderly people instead of investing in other fields. On the other hand, many people including me believe that living longer than past has many merits. First of all, elderly people bring a positive atmosphere to the family. Moreover, they can take care of their grandchildren while their parents are in the workplace. It means that parents can save their money by keeping their children at home instead of taking them to kindergarten. Secondly, the old people have some instructive experiences in many subjects of working which can help both individuals and companies to give lessons from and find the correct ways. Companies can hire them as consultants, so their experiences not only help companies to save energy and time of human resources but also bring them financial benefits. In conclusion, although living longer than past may have some cons because of their costs and requirements I strongly believe that the pros of elderly people, including their positive energy and usable experiences are more significant for both society and family.