The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences. Only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today is known as the era of centralisation. From this aspect, the questions about whether only government action can address severe consequences caused by the lack of housing in big cities are raised. In my opinion, the government action can solve this issue to some extent. Irrefutably, citizens can have a chance to dwell in public houses. This is because, unlike rural areas, governments can pour massive sums into public houses and allocate these houses for poverty citizens who live in big cities. This obviously leads to an increase in accommodations in big cities and this in turn encourages them to reside in a better quality of life. What is more, although a plethora of costs cannot be ignored, the authorities can implement housing policies. To exemplify, the authority enacts strict laws related to moving organisations and installs a majority of necessary buildings such as apartments, hospitals, and schools in rural areas. This, therefore, results in the promotion of huge migration from big cities to rural areas. Nevertheless, the authorities are hardly likely to shift citizen's preference for living in cities. In other words, since citizens already receive various benefits including job opportunities, high-paid jobs, high-quality education, and cultural events so, more citizens are likely to continue to migrate to cities in the future. To recapitulate, the authorities are hardly likely to shift citizen's preference for living in cities but citizens can have a chance to dwell in public houses and the authorities can implement housing policies. Thus, the government action can solve the severe consequences caused by the lack of housing in big cities.