The government should be responsible for providing retirees with financial support and care. While many people think that citizens should save money to take care of themselves when they are old. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The responsibilities of the government to its masses are increasing in demand. While some individuals believe that the government should be held responsible for granting monetary aid and showing concern to retired workers, others think that they should save up for the rainy days. I believe that the government should be fully involved in taking care of the needs of the retirees. This essay with discuss both views in the subsequent paragraph, relevant examples would be given and a logical conclusion would be drawn. To begin with, the government owns so many duties to the public ranging from the provision of social amenities to the provision of good and pliable roads. In these regards, providing financial aid to retired workers that are incapable of meeting up with their needs should be the duty of the government, as these workers once paid their taxes. Also, it helps to improve the quality of life and lifespan. For example, in developed countries like America where the government is responsible for the elderly, the average life expectancy has been noted to increase. However, some proportion of people believe that citizens should have insurance for their old age. Fending for themselves would reduce the risk of getting snubbed by the government or having their rations shortened by the greed of the people in authority. Also, it helps to boost their sense of responsibility. For example, in a developing country like Nigeria, it would be considered unwise to hand over the financial support of its retired citizens to the government, because they are known for corruption and using the money for the masses for their gains. In conclusion, this essay discussed both views, on if it is wise to let the government cater to the needs of retired workers or not. I opine that the government should be responsible as it is indeed their sense of duty to the masses