What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

It is irrefutable that plastic harms the environment to a great extent. No one can deny the fact that there are myriad cons to the use of plastic in daily life. This essay intends to throw light on the disadvantages of plastic and what are possible solutions to overcome the problem. There is a great trend in people to use plastic bags, bottles, and packing as plastic products are affordable, versatile, and durable but at the same time, these products are very harmful to the environment and also to human and animal health. Such bags, bottles, packing, toys, and many other things made up of plastic remain in the soil as these are not biodegradable; hence, it gets mixed with soil, impairing its breathability, and hampering the water flow thus causing infertility of soil. Moreover, aquatic animals and coral reefs are mostly being hurt by these materials. Today, plastic material can be found in animals, birds, and fish, it is really dangerous for our ecosystem. But how we can conquer this situation? In my opinion, the concerned authorities and masses people can turn the tide and mend the damage done to the environment, for that, they have to ensure that both play their part efficiently. First, people need to spontaneously take part in the plastic recycling process by putting waste in a separate trash bin. Authorities must make sure that all recyclable plastic materials are properly recycled and utilized. The government can impose hefty taxes on plastic products to discourage people from using them, in addition, sustainable plastic waste management seminars can inspire people to save the environment. In conclusion, plastic is on the brink of a threat to our world, and if we both -government and individual- work hard in hand then the chance is one day, we would be able to see a world where plastic is not a problem anymore.