Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

Society's functioning is dependent on rules and regulations, and unrestricted personal rights would hinder it. I completely agree with this idea and will discuss the issue in the following essay. On the one hand, many people believe that the number of legislation and rules that people are subjected to in most modern-day societies cause more harm than good. Most legislation and rules these days benefit a minority of the community, while the majority are still being affected by the existing rules and laws that are there to protect them. For example, in many countries, it is illegal to own a gun. However, when a criminal breaks into their home and attempts to murder them with a dangerous weapon, they are unable to defend themselves effectively. Furthermore, several fishing bans are set out in the law affecting fishermen in the vicinity and as a result, they are unable to feed their families. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that while some degree of freedom is necessary for personal growth and development, unchecked freedom could lead to negative consequences. Firstly, rules and laws help to create a stable and organized society by preventing chaos and conflict. They establish the norms and standards that people are expected to follow, which enables everyone to coexist peacefully and successfully. For example, if there were no traffic police to enforce safe traffic rules, a certain number of people can try to take advantage of such a situation and some cases may result as a consequence. Moreover, laws and rules provide a sense of security and protection for individuals and their property. They serve as a barrier to prevent criminal behaviour and ensure that justice is served in case of wrongdoing. In conclusion, while it is important to balance individual freedom and societal norms, which have a decisive role in the community, it is clear that laws and rules are necessary for the proper functioning of society.