IELTS Task 2 Writing The gap between the rich and the poor is becoming wider; the rich are becoming richer and the poor are even getting poorer. What problems can the situation cause? What can be done to reduce this gap? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The margin between the wealthy and the poor people is daily becoming more obvious and this is because the former continue to accumulate wealth while the reverse is the case for the latter. In this essay, I will pinpoint a problem that can germinate from this trend and proffer a potential solution to the problem. When socio-economic imbalances in the system continue to wax stronger, those on the lower end of the spectrum will not be able to access basic amenities such as; healthcare, shelter and education. As a consequence, there will be a surge in criminal activities and insecurity will prevail as people resort to armed robbery to provide for themselves and their families. An unpublished report in Nigeria in 2019 showed that many unemployed youths committed one form of criminal offence or the other, with a considerable number of them from poor homes. Turning to the remedy, perhaps the most effective measure will be for the government to employ a poverty alleviation strategy. This should be multifaceted to capture the various aspects of basic human needs to narrow the gap between the affluent and those in need. This framework may encompass free health care services, provision of gainful employment specifically for people from poor backgrounds, subsidized loans and helping the poor to set up small and medium-scale enterprises that will bring succour to the poor families. In conclusion, the margin between the well-to-do and poverty-stricken families keeps widening leading to escalating crime rates in the latter's quest for survival. To effectively deal with this problem, programmes strategically directed at eradicating poverty through diverse measures should be developed.