Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether highly-skilled labourers should be allowed to work in the country where they receive their training or whether should be allowed to choose their desired location. Although I acknowledge the rationale of the latter, I am in favour of the former. Those who advocate the labour’s right to choose their work location may have some convincing arguments. Certain fields of work are more beneficial to the practician if they decided to work in affluent countries. For instance, developed countries are where therapists can receive decent compensation for their hard work. Meanwhile, developing countries, despite their acknowledgement of the significance of this type of work, rather allocate their resources to economic sections than to psychology. Nevertheless, I believe this is one of the few occupations that the worker should be allowed to choose their work environment as if other professions are allowed, it would create numerous adverse effects on the labour market. In my opinion, I think professionals should only work in their native countries in order to prevent grey-matter loss as well as work inequality. Regarding the former, it would be a tremendous loss to a country if some of their best and brightest decided to offer their talent to foreign countries. This would result in a lack of high-quality workers in key jobs in that country, effectively denying that country of further developments. Concerning the latter, as foreign professionals started their work in their desired country, they accidentally steal locals of some of their jobs. For example, many Americans grow resentment over the Asian community since Asian immigrants got the majority of the work in some regions. In conclusion, I firmly support the idea that highly-trained labourers should only be permitted to work in their country to avoid disturbances in the job market, both locally and globally.