Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, social media have been involved in everyone's life. Most people claim that they could not live without social networking websites, however, I believe that social media such as Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, actually have enormous negative impacts on both individuals and society as a whole. There is no doubt that social applications on our mobile phones or iPad provide us with numerous benefits. For example, we are able to chat with our family members and old friends even if they are living in other countries, which strengthens the connections between people living far away from each other. In addition, by following the accounts of celebrities, we can know their daily lives and even communicate with them. Nevertheless, being addicted to social media can negatively affect people, especially youngsters. Firstly, young adults are typically occupied by a large number of school assignments, but social media can easily distract them, leading to the waste of their available time. Moreover, spending several hours a day texting friends or checking famous people's most recent posts is an unhealthy lifestyle, which can contribute to obesity and other diseases. Furthermore, social media can have adverse effects on society as well. If most young adults are addicted to social media, they would have much worse performance both in schools and at work, resulting in a potential decrease in talented youngsters, and the economy of the country can also be negatively affected. Additionally, social media are filled with fake news. If a significant amount of people were misled by that unreal news, they would vote for the wrong candidate in the election, resulting in damage to the democratic system. In conclusion, while social media can bring us joyful and fulfilling lives, I firmly believe that they have considerable negative effects on both individuals and society.