Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so the medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do you think the disadvantages of private health care outweigh the advantages?

Recent years have witnessed a debate about whether private medical companies should offer healthcare services or not. Though non-government organizations operating in this field have some drawbacks, I hold the belief that their benefits are far more significant. On the one hand, it is admitted that for-profit medical centres offer services at a higher expense than public hospitals do. This results in the fact that many people, particularly in the low-income segment, are unaffordable to use these services. For instance, a basic tooth care service in a private centre in Hochiminh city costs 600,000 VND, doubling that expense in a governmental hospital. Furthermore, the insurance policy of private companies is nothing to compare with that of public hospitals. To be more specific, private companies only allow individuals to claim the treatment cost at a percentage of 10-30% of the total bill, while they can be subsidized up to 100% at the public one. Nevertheless, for a variety of reasons, it would be wrong to consider private health care as trivial since it provides diversified and sufficient services. Firstly, private medical centres enable people to have a wide range of choices when having any medical issues. Due to the limited number of governmental hospitals, coinciding with the increasing demand for medical services, finding prompt treatment would be a challenge without these medical-care providers. Moreover, private companies provide customers, especially high earners, with high-quality and personalized health services. This is because staying healthy is the subject of increasing concern and many people tend to be more health-conscious. Hence, there is a need for long-term healthcare services such as personal medical advisors, or other customized services. To conclude, although private medical companies have their own shortcomings like high cost or insurance benefits, I contend that they are of great significance in providing proper health services to their targeted customers.