In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, the number of people who choose to read books on electronic devices, such as e- books, is on the rise. Even fairy tales, comics and other kinds of books popular among children are among the many types of books mainly read online in today’s society. There are, for sure, many advantages to reading digital books, but there are some disadvantages too. The two sides of this argument will be thoroughly analysed and discussed in this essay, before drawing a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, people who read books through electronic books have access to an unlimited number of readings. For instance, when parents want to read a story to their kids, they have the opportunity to choose the reading that best fits their interests. In fact, just by typing in the search bar the type of book their offspring is interested in, they can scroll on the screen multiple choices of the same kind of book. Sadly, this is made possible only by using an electronic device such as an e-book. Therefore, this is the reason why many readers believe it is better to use these kinds of devices. There are, however, drawbacks related to this upward trend. For example, in my humble opinion, the number one disadvantage of reading e- books is related to the strain on the eyes they cause after reading for prolonged periods. In the long run, if the specific reader is used to reading in the evening before going to sleep, this could damage his sleep quality. Certainly, this is not a problem that affects readers of physical books. To summarize, there are both advantages and disadvantages to reading books on e- books, but I strongly believe that the cons far outweigh the pros. In today’s society people are losing the habit of reading printed books, but I recommend, for the reasons aforesaid, that the passion for reading these kinds of books will increase in the future.