Some people say that the main environmental problem in our time is the less of particular species of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both sides of these views and give your own opinion.

It is often said that the major environmental problem in our era is the extinction of plants and wildlife. However, this issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. I consider the impacts of recurring natural disasters to be important, regardless of my opinion the loss of wildlife is the most serious threat to the environment. On the one hand, the rise in recent catastrophic natural disasters has been strongly linked to climate change. Many scientists have made the case that incremental rise in temperature, specifically in the oceans has increased the frequency and potency of tsunamis and blizzards. There are countless instances of these over two decades, but tsunamis mainly affected East Asian countries like Indonesia. This is one of the largest natural disasters of this century and resulted in thousands of deaths, injuries, and economic damages. Its effects hold back the nations for years. On the other hand, people like me focus on the number of endangered animals and plants increasing in recent decades. This affected the food chain in different regions of the world. One of the most well-known examples is in the Arctic where many polar bears are hunted by residents or extinct because of melting ice caps. Their extinction is just like a domino and affects the fragile ecosystem and unbalances the population of its prey. I believe the loss of ecological diversity is important like other environmental concerns. Thus, to remedy this problem governments and individuals need to take serious steps, not only invest more in conservation efforts for endangered animals but also work towards long-term reforms related to fossil fuels, carbon emissions, and the other apparent catalysts for climate change.