Surveys show that people are living longer in many countries. But increased life expectancy has many implications for aging individuals and for society as a whole. What are the possible effects of longer living for individuals and society?

Science and healthcare have evolved over the decades and life expectancy has increased around the globe as reports suggest. Though, this change has direct impact on the society and individuals. In the following paragraphs, we will discuss the probable repercussions of longer life on the world. If we see from an individual’s perspective, people are happier with the longevity in life. To illustrate, it makes everyone sad when someone lose a close family member or friend but with the increase in life span, we can spend more time with our near ones and vice versa. Moreover, long life means that we have more time to achieve our goals, travelling and learning. On the other hand, many countries are facing economic crisis as there are a lot of people who are reaching the retirement age which means that they will become a liability for the nation. For instance, a survey conducted by an international media firm suggest that more than half of Japan’s population will reach the retirement age by 2030 and it has become a major roadblock for their economic development. More aged people mean more expenditure required in the health care domain. Additionally, countries will be able to earn less taxes and will have to spend more on retirement funds. To conclude, increase in life expectancy may have many consequences for society like financial burden whereas for aging individuals, it brings a lot of opportunities as well as health problems. But governments should work on providing a better life to their aged citizens until healthcare becomes advance enough to cure all the diseases and health problems.