People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

In the recent decades, people have been sleeping much less compared to the past. I believe that the main reason for this is the invention of electricity and advanced technologies based on them; however, this phenomenon can be harmful for health. Before the invention of electricity, people used to sleep much more because they did not have a chance to work without a convenient source of light. The only source of light they could use were candles, which do not last long and the amount of light they produce is quite low. Consequently, it was more beneficial for them to fall asleep after sunset. This is proven by various historical studies around the globe. In contrast, the majority of people nowadays have easy access to a wide range of light sources based on electricity, which allows them to do chores even when it is dark outside. Unfortunately, modern lifestyle is quite unnatural for humans and can have a bad impact on health. The main reason for this is the reduced amount of sleep, which affects all organs of the human body. Apart from that, the lack of sleep can lead to mental illnesses and stress, which has a cascading effect on society because such an individual can be unfriendly or even rude with others. For instance, recent studies show that the amount of sleep positively correlates with the level of happiness. In conclusion, advances in technologies encourage people to sleep less; however it is crucial for them to maintain balance between health and work. Lack of sleep affects the human mind and can lead to bad mood or even depression.