Some think the best way to reduce the time people spend in travelling to work is to replace the parks and gardens close to the city centers with apartment buildings where commuters can live, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With an increasing traffic population nowadays, transforming parking lots and gardens into residential buildings for more accommodation in urban centres appears to be the optimal solution to decrease commuting hours to workplaces. However, I disagree with this notion as other efficacious approaches can be implemented to address this issue. By demolishing parking spaces and gardens located in metropolitan areas, more land can be used to implement multiple housing projects for employees. A lot of hours can be saved from travelling by transportation if people live closer to their working buildings. For example, workers will spend less time commuting to work from the outskirts. In addition, it would also allow professionals to walk only a few minutes to their companies. As such, it would ease the pressure on traffic conditions with a declined number of vehicles on the road. On the other hand, proponents who hold different views and are not convinced by removing leisure areas from the heart of a town would not be helpful. Despite the reduced commuting hours, less greenery and parking spaces may bring inconvenience to urban regions. For instance, citizens who do not work in the city centre and drive to the central area for business management and other settings may experience difficulty in locating a parking lot for their cars, this may indeed result in traffic congestion and undesirable travelling experience to the town. Personally, I do not think leisure fields in the centre of a town should be replaced by residential buildings to improve the situation. Instead, implement alternative adjustments according to different situations. For example, it would be more reasonable for the government to set up various commercial sections in the city centre to cater to employees' needs by assigning workers to the nearby offices. Furthermore, technological innovation can be used as part of the effort to reduce commuting time by fostering a home-based working culture in a company. As such, people have more options to attend their employment either by travelling or working from home. By investing in these strategies, a huge amount of time can be to ensure a productive and efficient working environment. In a nutshell, relocating parks and gardens may offer a reduction in people's daily commute, despite some doubts about whether it works or not, but both sides have valid concerns about the present situation. Nevertheless, actions from the government and the business can address this issue by building more nearby offices and encouraging home-based working.