Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often thought that the perfect way to deter crime is to give more extended imprisonment, whereas others claim there are other alternatives to reduce the crime rate. In my opinion, I consider that providing a longer prison sentence is undoubtedly a great deterrent, but there are also other measures that can be taken into consideration. On the one hand, according to some, when lawbreakers are kept in prisons for a long time, it will help the government to lessen the crime rate. This is because a lengthy punishment illustrates that the offence is wrong, and as a result, societies will not simply perpetrate any form of misdeed. In Malaysia, for instance, individuals who commit major crimes, such as assault and fraud, can sometimes be sentenced to 10 years in prison which eventually has helped reduce the mentioned crimes. On the other hand, some people think that there are other measures practical ways. One way is that should be rehabilitated instead of being in prison for a long time. Criminals who are rehabilitated will not reoffend. Moreover, this will help them to reenter society easily. Finally, in my view, a longer prison sentence is, in fact, one of the best punishments because criminals are locked away, and society is effectively protected. This also shows that crime is not tolerated, and people will face the consequences of their actions. Nevertheless, in some cases, other options can be considered, for example, community service, especially when the criminals are still minors. To sum up, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that putting offenders in jail for a long time is an effective way to reduce crime, but it is not suitable for all crimes, especially for crimes involving teenagers. If the government implemented punishments with the aim of rehabilitating offenders, the crime rate would certainly drop.