Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Animal testing is indeed a controversial topic for many. While some are expected to be against any sort of experimentation, others would argue that modern medicine and the cosmetic industry would be otherwise non-existent. In fact, a significant number of pharmaceutical products, people use today to treat a simple headache or diabetes, have had to be tried on some living subjects. To justify this view, an ever-growing part of the population already is or will be suffering from a health problem. Not all illnesses will require medical interventions, nevertheless, some will have to be treated with medication, especially those patients with chronic issues, such as diabetes and hypertension. As a matter of fact, those medicinal agents will have to be subjected to animal testing in order to ensure safety in humans, since human experiments are prohibited for obvious reasons. For example, my mother is on anti-hypertensives for life to ensure no further deterioration in her health status. However, as medicine is progressively improving, so are other scientific discoveries, allowing for alternative methods. Scientists have already begun testing on other living forms, such as bacteria, fungi and protozoa. It is noteworthy that a new technology called “3D printing” allows the regeneration of a human organ using biological materials. All the aforementioned alternatives have surprisingly shown similar results when compared to animal experimentation. In conclusion, scientific assays have undoubtedly improved the living conditions of people worldwide and arguing against the development of such advancements would have probably cost more to humankind. I believe that different investigative methods will soon emerge and make testing on living forms less preferable.