In the future, nobody will buy printed newaspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The number of people using online newspapers instead of printed ones is increasing rapidly. It is thought that online newspapers are just cheaper or even free and at the same time they don't use paper. Hence, no trees are cut for their production and therefore, online books are environmentally friendly. I am strongly convinced that the printed press will have been completely replaced by the online press by the year 2050. To begin with, people want to save their money. Hence, they will use free media rather than paid ones. Additionally, online newspapers are less harmful. For example, approximately 24 trees are needed for the production of one ton of paper. Nowadays many citizens are trying to reduce the number of paper they use in order to protect forests. They will definitely stop using printed presses. Secondly, it is easier for publishers to make money by selling online copies rather than printing something. Furthermore, cutting flora is only the tip of the iceberg. Everything is linked in nature. Greenery is used by a lot of animals as a source of food as well as a place to live. Moreover, cutting trees results in a lot of animals being homeless and hungry which is obviously a bad trend. Consequently, a lot of non-profit and non-governmental organisations around the world are trying to prevent companies from destroying forests and are aiming to replace printed literature with e-books. For example, one newspaper in Canada started a campaign supported by eco-activists in order to replace printed books in schools with online ones by the year 2024. In conclusion, online books and the press is cheaper and less harmful. I am strongly convinced that printed sources will become a thing of the past in a short perspective.