Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting theirs usual doctor . Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

A new phenomenon has arisen in the past decades that people are trying to remedy their health issues with alternative practices rather than seeking appropriate medical treatment from doctors. I strongly believe that this is a negative development and I will explain the reasons further. Firstly, referring to non-conventional medical procedures can put at risk the well-being of an individual. These techniques, most of the time, are based on traditional methods used by ancient cultures and they lack scientific feedback, which means that there is no proven knowledge that they are able to cure someone's illness. For instance,many people are misled by herbal mixtures and decoctions that are known for their beneficial properties and try to ease their diseases using those instead of visiting the doctor. This, not only can worsen the existing health condition but can lead someone to death due to irreversible complications. Furthermore, another important matter is that the alternative practitioners are not licensed healthcare providers. Taking this into consideration, it is evident that they do not possess adequate medical knowledge to assess the condition of a patient, nor do they have access to diagnostic procedures and tests. Additionally, there are several cases in which people were deceived by those practitioners,who ended up being completely unskilled and their only goal was to make money through the medical needs and desperation of others. In conclusion, the rise of alternative medicine constitutes a very dangerous development that can put at risk someone's life and cause serious and permanent damage to our health.