Some companies sponsor sport as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good for the world of sports, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are controverial perspectives heating a debate over the beneficial returns of leading firms’ resource allocation in the form of sponsorship towards prominent sports events. While some hold a strong statement that it is tremendously conducive, others claim that there are demerits lingering. While the latter is valid to some extent, I would contend that sponsoring major sports series can do more good than harm. Without a shadow of a doubt, advertising a corporation’s brand name through sponsoring tournaments which are broadcast through either television or social media brings immensely favorable potential. Brand awareness has always been the tier- one objective of this action; hence, improving visibility and extensive exposure of companies’ names can greatly draw an appeal and retain potential customers. For example, Adidas has been one of the long-term sponsors for FIFA World Cup, the greatest tournament on the globe. By providing its high-quality shoes or official uniforms accompanied with its logos to the whole football team players who participate in events televised internationally, Adidas soon becomes one of the most leading sports -shoe brands, which in turn expands massly its revenue and profits. Thus, positioning a brand through extensive media coverage is one of the advantageous impacts of sports sponsorship. While the merit of spending expenditures on eminent tournaments has been widely acknowledged, there is still demerit which is worth mentioning. Due to the fans’ great preference to the event or the team they are loyal to, they may naturally develop affinity to the brands which make favorite their teams ambassadors, despite the cons those enterprises’ items can bring. For example, Budweiser is one of the prominent beverage companies whose main product is beer. This alcoholic drink can do serious harm to people’s physical health, yet, it is still considered a best-seller consumed by not only adults but also adolescents since this brand has sponsored a huge sum of money towards FIFA World cup. Therefore, some unfavorable impacts from the products of the sponsoring firms can be greatly brought to the sports -lovers once they have the chance to be visually broadcast as the one having sponsorship in mass sports events. In conclusion, while it is undeniable that spreading and positioning companies’ names through cashing in notorious sports tournaments in the form of money or products brings tremendous benefits for the enterprises, this action can induce several downsides related to companies’ sorts of aired products.