In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime? How can we deal with those causes?

Nowadays, there has been a steep rise in the incidences of criminal activities around the world. This essay will discuss the main reasons behind this increase and the steps that should be taken to overcome these problems. To begin with, the main reasons behind the surge in crime are poverty and unemployment. With the rise in population, the gap between the poor and the rich is widening. Many people still do not have access to even basic schooling and that further affects their ability to secure a job. When people cannot earn enough to make a living using legal means, they may resort to illegal practices. This is one of the main causes of crime. The influence of the media is another factor. Movies and television programmes often glorify crime and people who watch such programs on a regular basis often get influenced to commit crime. There are various steps that can be taken to overcome the surging cases of crime. The most important one is to eradicate poverty. The government can improve the situation to a great extent by creating more employment opportunities. Making education universally available will enable more and more people to find jobs. The government also needs to enforce law and order more strictly. The authorities should introduce stringent punishment for all law-breaking individuals to instil fear among them. Thus, these are measures that should be taken to minimize crime in society. In conclusion, the rise in crime is majorly due to poverty and unemployment and both citizens and authorities should do their part to overcome this issue.