The advantages brought by the spread of English as a “global language” will outweigh disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Recent years have witnessed a debate about whether the advantages brought by the spread of English should be given more importance than the disadvantages associated with it as a "global language ". While many are in demand of support for the latter view, I hold the belief that English as a universal language will provide more benefits. On the one hand, regional languages such as Gujarati, Hindi, etc. are endangered in some of the states in India. For instance, parents nowadays enrol their children in schools where the medium of study is English. While in our childhood, our schools were studying in the regional language Gujarati only. This is the reason why the regional languages are at risk of extinct. Therefore, many believe that the spread of English has more disadvantages. Nevertheless, people should not ignore the advantages of English as a worldwide language. To begin with, globally having one language for standard policy statements could be benefited all countries. For example, policymakers at well-known organisations such as the United Nations, WHO, etc. make their policies in one broadly spread language which most of us can understand. Moreover, English could open the door for many talented individuals from under-developed countries to explore their idea outside their borders as well as spread their knowledge to others in need. Hence, we can see a lot of immigrants helped many developed countries. Thus, it makes clear that the advantages of English beyond its boundaries are more than the disadvantages. To conclude, although the consideration of a negative development of the English language spread is necessary, I believe that a positive development is more impactful. Therefore, there is a need to plough ahead with a view that the advantages brought by the spread of English as a "global language " will outweigh the disadvantages.