In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population create problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extant do the advantage of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?.

During the last few generations and the developments we had in different fields, the number of people who are living in old ages above 70 is increasing but the birth rate is falling. therefore, some people believe that this statement can cause difficulties for the government, which I totally agree with, however, in this essay, I will point to both benefits and drawbacks. To begin with, research shows us the number of happy people who are living with their parents or grandparents is much more than those who have lost their loved ones which can cause an increase in depression between young ages. Even though it is important to take care of society’s mental health the negative effect of having too many elderly in the population can have unexpected effects on a country too. For instance, most people with physical health can regularly work till their 70ties and for the rest of their lives, they will need a retirement salary coming from the government’s budget. Even if we assume they have a huge amount of money to spend this way too. On the other hand, believe it or not, as we grow our body start to lose their health Knowing that there are young people who are struggling with various kind of diseases nothing will change the fact that most of the illness appears in old age. Despite that, we may need more factories to produce medicine and cut off more plants or trees for medical uses which can directly lead to air pollution and loss of the environment. In conclusion, in my opinion, it may be necessary to have old people in the population to take care of society’s mental health but on average disadvantages outweigh the advantages.