Some people are reducing their walks, however, many health experts say that walking is the best exercise to maintain health. Why do people walk less? What might encourage people to walk longer distances?

Nowadays the majority of people don’t prefer walking, while many health professionals insist that walking is the efficient way to maintain a healthy life. In the following essay, I will discuss several reasons for this situation and provide some measures to tackle this problem. There are several factors why modern people walk less. Firstly, most individuals are living a sedentary life, due to the development of technology people can choose to work at home or interact with others online without going out physically. Secondly, many workers are forced to work overtime, especially in Asian countries. It contributes to those individuals spending most of their time in the indoor workplace and no extra energy to go exercising or walking. Last but not least, The increase in vehicles on the road makes many pedestrians feel insecure. For example, The dwellers who live in big cities seldom walk due to the noise and air pollution might increase the anxiety of people. However, The government can take some actions to encourage people to walk more frequently. To begin with, local governments can establish more walking trails while restricting the vehicle amount on the road. it can certainly make the population feel more secure and willing to walk more often. Moreover, governments should ban companies that make their workers work overtime and also publicize the awareness of health issues. By taking these actions, people can have more leisure time to exercise for their health. In conclusion, although the population has low awareness of the advantages of walking. There are still some methods that can be taken to raise the public interest in taking up habits of walking and exercising