In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, there is a trend that some countries support adolescents to take a one- gap period to work or travel during the period between high school graduation and starting university study. This trend would create certain benefits but there will also be some drawbacks. Initially, there are several reasons why this trend is a boon to young people. The most crucial benefits are that they can attain general knowledge and experience of the world. Particularly, it is most suitable for those who haven’t made up their minds about their future career. Moreover, numerous students face financial troubles. Some of them decide to work during the gap year to put aside extra money for pursuing university studies. In addition, some adolescents are curious about the world outside the classroom. Therefore, a one- gap year is enough for them to meet many people and experience new things, which helps them understand themselves clearly and choose which major they want to learn. On the other hand, there are a number of disadvantages of taking a gap year that people should take into account. Those who continue university studies as soon as high school graduation have more chances to be professional. Therefore, taking a gap year would decrease their desire to learn, which takes them more time to be successful in their career. Some researchers report that numerous students who took a year off lost more of their motivation to continue their studies than students who didn’t get a gap year. Taking everything into consideration, taking a break after high school education has many pros and cons. The students need to figure out what they want to do in the future to make a decision suitable to their abilities and situations.