Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There was another railway that got demolished for occupying too many spaces on roads in Taiwan. This evoked different voices from commuters, claiming that the local authority should keep expanding the tracks to rural areas so that the local residents can shorten their time during communication. Yet I personally disagree with the opinion and in the following essay, I will elaborate further on the reasons. To begin with, the construction of metro systems is costly and can lead to a heavy financial burden on the local government. The main culprit can be the nature of railways, that is, they need to run on specialized rails. The price of the acquisition of land in Taiwan is usually high among all construction fees, especially if the routes will go through city centres. For example, the metro system in my city creates a remarkable debt in the year-end balance, making the citizens suffer from the public money shortage. Furthermore, the assessment of railways is difficult. The process requires precise calculation of the demand for public transportation and available human labour for construction. Once the preparation work failed, the building programs might bring detrimental consequences to the traffic as a whole. For instance, the mayor of Taichung once built lightweight railways in order to boost tourism. However, before the harvest, the citizens suffered crowdedness during rush hours beforehand because the newly developed transportation takes spaces away from the original driveways. In conclusion, developing new metro systems can invite more problems like financial issues or traffic jams. Therefore, I believe the government should use more resources to flourish the driveways, instead of the ones with specialized routes.